thecuriouskiwi

Food, Wine and Beer Festivals


A list of food, wine and beer festivals - follow this festival link for a list of all festivals around NZ.




July

A Mid Winter's Ale Festival (Cathedral Square, Christchurch) www.canterburybeerfestival.co.nz

Bastille Day Street Festival (Remuera, Auckland)

Canterbury Truffle Festival www.canterburytrufflefestival.nz

Chocolate Festival (Wellington) www.chocolatefestival.co.nz Returns 2018

Food Show (Auckland) www.foodshow.co.nz

Gintopia - A Festival of Gin (Wellington) Facebook New for 2018

Meadowfresh NZ Latte Art Championship (Auckland) www.eventbrite.co.nz New for 2018

Moonshine by the River (Riverhead, Auckland) Facebook New for 2018

Moveable Feasts (July/August, Nelson) www.uniquelynelson.co.nz New for 2018

Tauranga Coffee Festival Facebook

The Seriously Good Food Show (Tauranga June/July) www.seriouslygoodfoodshow.co.nz

WAI.TAI and Kai (part of Matariki Festival, Maritime Museum in Auckland) www.maritimemuseum.co.nz New for 2018

Winter Ales Festival (Wellington) www.winterales.co.nz


August

American Express Restaurant Month incorporating The Curious Food Festival (Auckland) www.heartofthecity.co.nz

Beervana (Wellington) www.beervana.co.nz

Dunedin Winter Beer Festival Facebook New for 2018

Moveable Feasts (July/August, Nelson) www.uniquelynelson.co.nz New for 2018

Sweat Shop Brew Kitchen's Annual Brew Fest (Auckland) www.sweatshopbrew.co.nz New for 2018

Tutukaka Coast Boutique Beer Festival (returns 2019)

Visa Wellington On a Plate www.wellingtononaplate.com

Wine & Food Celebration (Auckland) www.event.foodandwine.co.nz


September

Auckland Indonesian Festival www.aucklandindonesianfestival.com

BMW Oktoberfest (Auckland)

Beer & Bacon Festival (Auckland) www.sweatshopbrew.co.nz New

CHB The Festival (Hawkes Bay) www.thefestival.org.nz

FermentFest (Hamilton, moved from October to September) www.waikatofoodinc.com

Otahuhu Ethnic Food Festival (Auckland) www.foodfestival.co.nz

Pinot Palooza (festival of pinot noir in Auckland) Facebook New

Port Chalmers Seafood Festival www.festival.portchalmers.com (returns 2017)

The Coffee & Chocolate Show (Auckland) www.chocolatecoffeeshow.co.nz

Vegan Vibes (Mount Maunganui)

Whitianga Scallop Festival www.scallopfestival.co.nz (returns 2019)


October

Akaroa French Festival www.akaroa.com

Festival Italiano (Newmarket, Auckland) www.festivalitaliano.co.nz

First Light Wine & Food (Gisborne) www.firstlightwineandfood.co.nz New for 2018

it! Bay of Islands Food & Wine Festival paihianz.co.nz

JFC Food & Sake Expo (Auckland) www.asbshowgrounds.co.nz New

Matakana Oyster & Wine Festival www.oysterfestmatakana.co.nz

Mexfestival (Auckland) www.mexfestival.com

NZ Cheese Month (nationwide) www.nzsa.org.nz

Okere Falls Beer Fest (Rotorua) www.okerefallsstore.co.nz

Oktoberfest (Wellington) www.oktoberfest.co.nz

Rosebank Oktoberfest (Christchurch)

Seafest (Kaikoura) www.seafest.co.nz

The Shakespeare Brewery's Annual Oktoberfest (Auckland)

Vegan Expo (Christchurch) www.vegetarianchristchurch.org.nz

Waiheke Island of Wine Expo (Auckland) www.waihekewine.co.nz

Westport Whitebait Festival www.westcoast.co.nz New

Whitebait Festival Haast www.westcoast.co.nz New


November

Art in the Olives Festival www.telegraphhill.co.nz (Hastings) part of F.A.W.C.

Bikes, Bands & BBQS (Auckland) www.motat.org.nz New

Central Districts Wine & Food Show (Palmerston North) Facebook New

Dunedin Craft Beer & Food Festival www.dunedinbeerfest.co.nz

FAWC - Food & Wine Classic (Hawkes Bay) www.fawc.co.nz

Fiesta Del Sol (Auckland) Facebook New

Hobbiton Beer Festival (Matamata) www.hobbitontours.com New for 2018

Kapiti Coast Festival (incorporating Mary Potter Hospice Strawberry Festival) kapiticoastfestival.nz

New Zealand Cider Festival (Nelson) www.nzciderfestival.com

Ocean Vine Hop (Marlborough) www.oceanvinehop.co.nz New

St Francis Wine & Food Festival (Auckland) Facebook New

Taste of Auckland www.tasteofauckland.co.nz

Te Matuku Oyster Festival (Waiheke Island) www.tematukuoysters.co.nz (returns 2018)

Toast Martinborough Wine, Food & Music Festival www.toastmartinborough.co.nz


December

Beers at The Basin (Wellington) www.beersatthebasin.co.nz New

Christchurch/South Island Wine & Food Festival www.winefestival.co.nz

Cromwell Cherry Festival www.centralotagonz.com

Kapiti Food Fair www.kapitifoodfair.net

Waimate Strawberry Fare www.waimatestrawberryfare.co.nz

January

Bridge Pa Wine Festival (Hawkes Bay)

Beast of a Feast (Mt Maunganui)

Central Otago Pinot Noir Celebration (Queenstown) www.pinotcelebration.co.nz (returns 2018)

Cromwell Food & Wine Festival www.cromwellheritageprecinct.co.nz

Gladstonebury Festival of Music, Craft, Food & Wine (Wairarapa) https://gladstonebury.co.nz New for 2018

Great FitzRoy Mussel Fest (Great Barrier Island) www.thebarrier.co.nz

Katikati Avocado Food & Wine Festival Facebook New for 2018

Sarau Festival (Upper Moutere) www.saraufestival.co.nz

Summer Beer Festival (Queenstown)

Tairua School Wine & Food Festival www.tairuawineandfood.co.nz

The Great Kiwi Beer Festival (Christchurch) www.greatkiwibeerfestival.co.nz

Wellington Wine, Food & Craft Beer Festival www.wineandfoodfestival.co.nz (moved from March to January)


February

Chow & Tipple Food, Wine & Beer Festival (Cambridge) www.chowandtipple.co.nz New for 2018

Clevedon Jazz, Wine & Food Festival Facebook (returns 2019)

Coromandel Oyster Fest www.musselkitchen.co.nz

Greater Wellington Brew Day (Upper Hutt) www.brewday.co.nz

International Kai Festival (Nelson) www.itson.co.nz

Kawhia Kai Festival

Marlborough Wine & Food Festival (Blenheim) www.wine-marlborough-festival.co.nz

Meatstock - The Music & Barbecue Festival (Auckland) www.meatstock.co.nz New for 2018

Nelson Wine and Food Festival www.richmondrotary.org.nz

North West Wine, Beer & Food Festival (The Hunting Lodge, Waimauku, Auckland) Facebook

Rotorua Summer Seafood Festival Facebook

Sunshine and a Plate Food Festival (Whakatane) (February/March) www.sunshineandaplate.nz

Takapuna Food, Wine & Music Festival www.takapunafestival.co.nz New for 2018

Twizel Salmon & Wine Festival www.twizel.info

Wild Stock (Wellington) Facebook New for 2018

Wine & Food Wind Down (Blenheim) www.vinesvillagecafe.co.nz



March

Auckland Coffee Festival www.aucklandcoffeefestival.co.nz

Beer Appreciation Day (Havelock North) www.beerappreciationday.co.nz

Burning Lamb (Auckland) www.burninglamb.co.nz New for 2018

Gibbston Wine & Food Festival (Queenstown Gardens) www.gibbstonwineandfood.co.nz (returns 2019)

Harcourts Mangere Bridge Autumn Festival

Havelock Mussel & Seafood Festival www.havelockmusselfestival.co.nz

Heritage Harvest Festival (Riverton) www.sces.org.nz

Hokitika Wild Food Festival www.wildfoods.co.nz

Hokonui Moonshiners Festival (Gore) www.moonshinefest.co.nz (returns 2019)

Kaimoana at the Park (Napier) www.hawkesbaynz.com New for 2018

Kegkoura Craft Beer Festival (Kaikoura) www.emporiumbrewing.co.nz

Mangawhai Food & Wine Festival www.mangawhai.co.nz

MarchFest (Nelson) www.marchfest.com

Marton Harvest Fair Facebook New for 2018

Melt Festival of Chocolate (Easter - Rotorua) www.meltrotorua.co.nz New for 2018

Nelson Beer Week www.nbw.co.nz New for 2018

North Canterbury Wine & Food Festival www.ncwineandfood.co.nz

Oyster Festival (Princes Wharf, Auckland) www.eurobar.co.nz New for 2018

Sunshine and a Plate Food Festival (Whakatane) (February/March) www.sunshineandaplate.nz

Waiheke Island Wine & Food Festival www.festival.waihekewine.co.nz (returns March 2019)

Wairarapa Wines Harvest Festival www.wairarapaharvestfestival.co.nz

Whangarei Fritter Festival Facebook

Whiskey Galore's Dramfest (Christchurch) Facebook (returns 2018)


April

A Taste of Matarangi www.atasteofmatarangi.co.nz

Better Food Fair, part of Go Green Expo (Auckland) www.gogreenexpo.co.nz

Clyde Wine & Food Festival www.promotedunstan.org.nz

Craft Beer Capital Hopstock (Wellington)

Fermentation Fantasia (Christchurch) Facebook New for 2018

Food Show (Christchurch) www.foodshow.co.nz

Gin Jubilee (Auckland) www.ginjubilee.com New for 2018

Hop'N'Vine Craft Beer, Wine & Food Festival (Invercargill) www.hopnvine.co.nz

Melt Festival of Chocolate (Easter - Rotorua) www.meltrotorua.co.nz New for 2018

Motueka Kai Fest www.motuekakaifest.nz New for 2018

Pie, Pint & Pinot (part of Arrowtown Autumn Festival) www.arrowtownautumnfestival.org.nz

SOBA Mountain Ales Craft Beer Festival (Taranaki), see SOBA Taranaki

The Great Pumpkin Carnival (Hamilton) www.thegreatpumpkincarnival.co.nz

The Smallest Beer Festival (Paekakariki) Facebook New for 2018


May

Bluff Oyster & Food Festival www.bluffoysterfest.co.nz

Coromandel Seafood Fest Facebook

Feast Marlborough www.feastmarlborough.nz New for 2018

Food Show (Wellington) www.foodshow.co.nz

International Food and Culture Festival (Whangarei) www.whangareinz.com New for 2018

NZ Hot Sauce Festival (Auckland) www.sweatshopbrew.co.nz

Pinot & Prosciutto (various locations) www.cloudybaypinotandprosciutto.co.nz New for 2018

The Great Eketahuna Cheese Festival Facebook New for 2018

The Great NZ Food Show (Hamilton) www.greatnzfoodshow.co.nz

The World of Wine Festival (Auckland) www.theworldofwinefestival.nz New for 2018


June

Auckland Beer Week Facebook

Edible Fashion Awards (Hastings) www.ediblefashionawards.co.nz (moved from July - June 2018)

FAWC - Food & Wine Classic (Hawke's Bay) www.fawc.co.nz

Feastival - Taranaki Restaurant Week www.feastival.co.nz New for 2018

GABS Beer, Cider & Food Festival (Auckland) www.gabsfestival.com

Le Renault French Festival (held in Auckland and Wellington in June) www.frenchfestival.nz New for 2018

NZ Boutique Wine Festival (Auckland) www.boutiquewine.co.nz

Okere Falls Store Strong Beer Festival (Rotorua) www.okerefallsstore.co.nz

The Seriously Good Food Show (Tauranga - June/July) www.seriouslygoodfoodshow.co.nz

The Smallest Beer Festival (Paekakariki, April & June 2018) Facebook New for 2018

Winetopia (Auckland & Wellington) www.winetopia.nz

go to top